Malifaux Tournament – New Crew

logo

So I went to a Malifaux tournament at Games Cube in Parramatta.

Thank you to Nick for running it. I enjoyed it very much. I was very sick on the day (and the week leading up to the tourney) and did not think I could stay the whole day, as it turns out I did manage to stay the whole day, and I also managed to win the event! YAY me!

Anyways because I was sick, I only managed to paint a few models, the rest were black undercoat (Boo). Lucky for me, the painting was judged as a separate category so it did not affect my overall score.

I decided to take the University of Transmortis. I love these guys, they are heaps of fun, and people do not know how to play against them yet as they are not often fielded. The plan was to take the Valedictorian and 5 students. However, I started to think about it and came up with a master plan. why not play Nicodem and raise the students, that way I can have a never ending supply of them. So I bought the Open Graves box set and fielded these guys, and added two students.

My List was:

nico nicoc

My list was:

Nicodem (2 extra soulstones)

Mortimer (Corpse Bloat, My Favorite Shovel)

Nurse

Vulture (totem)

Valedictorian

Student of Sinew

During the game I managed to raise a lot of students. The student of Viscera (snake) was my fav. Man that thing is fast, and scary. One of the advantages of the students is they are armed to deal with a lot of different factors. Students of steel ignore armour, students of sinew ignore hand to wound etc. The also all cause terrifying on certain models. As most of my games were against the living the Valedictorian and Students of Viscera were great as they cause terrifying on the living. Great way to make your opponent burn cards.

studentvis studentv studentsteel students

 

I had three great games and played 3 great opponents. Game 1 was against a Seamus crew. game 2 was against Viktorias, this was played by Dave who had beaten my 7-1 last time we met. Not this time though, I managed to get a 8-5 victory (I think) against him. And the final game was also against a Viktoria’s crew. Gee I hate the Viktorias, they are super fast and kill quick. However like everything Malifaux, if you stick to your schemes and strats you can beat any crew.

All in all I managed to win all 3 of my games and took hold of the Gold trophy! Timmy won best painted with his Pandora crew (I will try and snap some photos of it and post them up here. It looks amazing).

 

 

Leave a comment